NWA Democratic Black Caucus Announces Minority Educators Banquet

The Northwest Arkansas Democratic Black Caucus’ 2015 Lifetime Achievement award recipients have been announced.

Recipients will be honored at the third annual NWA Minority Educators Banquet at 6:30 p.m. Saturday, May, 15 at the Janelle Y. Hembree Alumni House, 491 N. Razorback Road, in Fayetteville.

Tickets, which must be reserved by email, are $35 per person.

The recipients are:

· Head men’s basketball coach Mike Anderson, University of Arkansas

· Dr. Diana Gonzales Worthen, University of Arkansas

· Kim Sutton, Bentonville Public Schools

· Dr. Paul Adams, University of Arkansas

· Kanosha Grigsby, Rogers Public Schools

· Dr. Danielle L. Wood, University of Arkansas

The event will be hosted by actor Adrian Lockett, who recently appeared in “Furious Seven” with Vin Diesel and “Get Hard” with Kevin Hart. Entertainment will be provided by comedian Terrance T. Jones, whose appearances include BET’s “ComicView.”

In addition to the honorees, the NWA Democratic Black Caucus will celebrate all minority teachers in Northwest Arkansas. This year’s theme is “Quality Education, A Community Commitment.”

“We take pride in celebrating one of the most respected professions known to man,” Northwest Arkansas Democratic Black Caucus president D’Andre Jones said. “Teachers are truly committed to the community, not only through education but as role models and mentors. Sometimes teachers have had to assume the role of parents, and even big brothers and sisters. So we want to celebrate them for exceeding their professional commitment.”

The VIP reception, which features honorees from the two previous celebrations, will start at 6 p.m.

For sponsorship information and to purchase tickets, email NWABlackCaucus@gmail.com (subject: Banquet Sponsorship or Banquet Tickets).

Categories: Legacy Archive