NWA Musicians Day



Mayor proclaims April 23 as Northwest Arkansas Musicians Day

Mayor Lioneld Jordan has proclaimed April 23 as Northwest Arkansas Musicians Day.

In his statement, Mayor Jordan states that all of the musicians in Northwest Arkansas deserve to be honored for their contribution of providing musical entertainment and enhancing the quality of life for the community. “The gift of music, in its many forms, is a significant part of what makes our community so special,” the proclamation reads.

The proclamation coincides with the 14th annual Northwest Arkansas Music Awards, which was Thursday, at the Dickson Theater. 

The event honors all Northwest Arkansas musicians, and winners in 22 musical categories were announced along with the presentation of three special awards. 

ffw-0423-voreSix Hung Sprung







                         Six Hung Sprung                                                       Sarah Hughes                       

Honored with special awards will be singer/songwriter Sarah Hughes and ska/punk band Six Hung Sprung (Jeremey Taylor, Michael Adkins, Matt Lee, Christopher Moore, Shane Harris, Scott Cornish, Cullen Boyd and Jake Norton) who will receive Hall of Fame awards for racking up three previous NAMA wins. 

Honored with a Lifetime Achievement Award will be the heavy metal band Vore (guitarists Page Townsley and John Voelker, drummer Remy Cameron and bassist Jeremy “Skullcrusher” Partin). 

While the metal scene in Northwest Arkansas has grown in recent years, 15 years ago it was a lonely scene, but Vore was there. Northwest Arkansas metal bands played the legendary NWA club, The Rink, as early as 1989 and Townsley was one of those musicians. In 1994, Townsley and Voelker fromed Vore and began cranking out their crushing onslaught of brute power and heaviness. Since then they have played many venues including Milwaukee Metalfest. Vore has released three albums “Dead Kings Eyes,” “Lord of Storms” and their most recent CD “Maleficus” and they continue their performance schedule.

Categories: Commentary