And the winners are…

And the winners are…

Local musicians capture awards at NAMA XIII

Hundreds of music fans packed the Dickson Theater last Thursday night for the 13th annual Northwest Arkansas Music Awards or NAMA XIII.

Sweeping the awards was Benjamin Del Shreve with four wins. Del Shreve won for Best Male Vocalist and along with his band captured the Band of the Year and Album of the Year Awards. The group also won the Best Pop Rock category in a tie with Apartment 5.

Awards were given in 18 different categories in addition to three Hall of Fame Awards and one Lifetime Achievement Award.

The NAMA XIII winners are: Singer-songwriter male, Jeff Kearney; Singer-songwriter female, Sarah Hughes; Female Vocalist, Leah Spears; Male Vocalist, Benjamin Del Shreve; Indie/Underground/Ambient,; Pop Rock, (Tie) Benjamin Del Shreve, Apartment 5; Power Rock/Southern Rock, Maud Crawford; Metal/Hard Rock, Wrought; Rock/R&B/Blues, Eoff Brothers; Jam/World Music, Joseph Israel; Roots/Americana, Sarah Hughes Band; Jazz, Matt Smith Trio; Electronic/Groove, Fayetteville Funk Ensemble, Best None Of The Above, Six Hung Sprung, Best New Band, A Good Fight; Band Of The Year
Benjamin Del Shreve, Album Of The Year, Benjamin Del Shreve; Best Producer-Studio, The Listen Lab.

Hall of Fame awards are given to those who have received three previous awards. Joining the Hall of Fame class this year are singer songwriter Effron White, jam band Flipoff Pirates and blues band Ocie Fisher and the Hipp Dogs.

Previous Hall of Fame recipients are: Earl and Ernie Cate, The Cate Brothers Band, Jed Clampit, The Jed Clampit Band, Hunkr Down, David Renko, Porky Hill, Oreo Blue, Darren Ray, Wildwood, Fallen, Emily Kaitz, Big Smith, Cherry Brooks, Still on the Hill, Trout Fishing in America, Clare Star, Ultra Suede.

This year a Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Joe Giles of Joe Giles and the Homewreckers. This award is given to musicians who demonstrate outstanding musicianship, dedication and honor. Previous winners are Earl and Ernie Cate, Trout Fishing in America, Crow Johnson, Jed Clampit, Mike Sumler Band, Nick Masullo, Fred Tackett, Michael Burks, Al Lopez, Levon Helm, Bob Keen, Harold Pinkerton, Herman Tuck, Jim Younkin, Sleepy LaBeef, Frankie Kelly, Alvin “Mookie” Matlock and JoJo Thompson.

Categories: LIVE! In NWA